Home > Blog > Two Quick Things…

Two Quick Things…

Just two quick things I’ve found this week on the ol’ interweb that I hope you’ll find helpful and interesting:

1) Snowflake Method. It’s a cute name but it’s essentially a process for creating a detailed outline. I’ve been trying it out this week, focusing on the first four steps. I haven’t stayed within the time frames he suggests but it’s been helpful to have a process or an assignment to follow while creating my outline. After completing step 4, I pitched the story to my wife, Katherine Roy, and found flaws that would have been a pain to fix after pages and pages of a draft (not to mention hours and hours). It’s already been helpful!

2) Greek Archetypes. Greek myths are such a huge influence on dramatic writing that I should know them by heart… but I don’t. Unfortunately, every text I’ve read has sucked all the emotion and feeling out of the tales and delivered the information like a report. Not fun, so it hasn’t happened. But after reading The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (and loving it!), and hearing that a lot of the story was influenced by Greek myths, I hunkered down to get my learn on. To prevent the same drab outcome that usually happens, I looked into the characters, first, and found this website which has been a great beginners guide to the characteristics of the major Greek gods and goddesses. If any of you have resources that you’d recommend to help keep this learning process about the Greek myths character-driven, please share!

Categories: Blog
  1. 04/23/2011 at 9:16 PM

    Hey there, Try reading the Metamorphosis by Ovid. He’s a later writer who weaves the stories together fairly nicely, and with enough flourish to keep you interested.

    Also I really like The Power of Myth by Joseph Campbell.

    • 04/24/2011 at 7:18 PM

      Thanks, Adam! I’ll check those out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

