Home > Blog, Story Structure in Graphic Novels > Story Structure in Graphic Novels — Hellboy

Story Structure in Graphic Novels — Hellboy

There are questions we all ask ourselves: Why are we here? What is our purpose? Why are giant monster frogs killing people?

…Well, maybe we all don’t ask ourselves those questions. But Hellboy, the world’s greatest paranormal investigator, asks them in Seed of Destruction the first collection of Hellboy serials by Mike Mignola and John Byrne.

Not surprisingly, Seed of Destruction, which follows an investigator, is a murder mystery and as it is in most murder mysteries, it will be the desire for answers that drive the story forward and get the investigator — even the world’s greatest — into trouble.

To see how Hellboy: Seed of Destruction works as a three-act story, visit here: Hellboy Story Structure.

P.S. If you are hoping to serialize your graphic novel, Hellboy: Seed of Destruction is a great example to learn from. By splitting Act 2 in half, Mignola and Byrne were able to have four “chapters”, each 24 pages long. It goes fast, but even in a 96-page story, you can create a very solid structure.

(Spoiler Alert: If you have not read Hellboy: Seed of Destruction, I will be discussing the entire story.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. 02/28/2010 at 11:25 AM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: