Home > Blog, Middle-Grade Novel Month > Secret Headquarters

Secret Headquarters

After the most amazing page spread, ever, in my middle-grade novel about kid spies, I ran into a bit of trouble.

While prepping the novel I was always really excited about the most amazing page spread, ever. “How much fun can I pack into a single two-page image?” was the goal. I wasn’t nearly as excited about the really important heavy-with-exposition scene that follows. So, I glossed over it. I got the gist and moved on …until this week. :(

I made this bed, so I had to lie in it. I had been having dessert for breakfast, lunch and dinner until suddenly it was Brussels sprouts time, baby! Fortunately, I survived the onslaught of Brussels sprouts, which wasn’t so bad after all, and I found moments of dessert along the way (What?).

One task that I enjoyed very much was designing the building for the headquarters. I imagined it to be an abandoned subway station, so I found all these great pictures online and I learned of a gorgeous abandoned subway station here in New York City at the end of the 6 line, The Old City Hall Station. Who has two thumbs and is going on a tour of The Old City Hall Station as soon as possible? This guy. :)

 

 

  1. Heather
    08/13/2012 at 10:41 PM

    That looks awesome! Too bad we didn’t discover it a few weeks earlier :)

  2. 01/15/2013 at 11:21 AM

    Wow!!! I found your blog looking for the beats from Save the Cat in online form (for later ref — thanks!) and found this treasure to explore. I’m in Boston, not so far, and this looks so very well worth the trip. Thank you!

    • 01/19/2013 at 10:51 AM

      Excellent! I hope you enjoy it. And nice blog, btw. I hope your writing it going well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

